AJAS.org.au Forum Archive

Adelaide Japanese Animation Society

AJAS Forum Archive

Forum Administrators and Moderators

Math makes sense

by Seven Of Four » Tue Nov 07, 2006 6:57 pm

I'm only an arts student, but I still did a bit of math in my day. Using the fantastic equipment available to me I can't seem to get around not enjoying this. Hit me if this old news, I just get bored and start doing random.

a = b

a2 = ab

a2 - b2 = ab - b2

(a+b)(a-b) = b(a-b)

a+b = b

a+a = a

2a = a

2 = 1

And with that, everything makes sense now!

Main point asking, how does this make sense? I know in arts 'beer = dinner' but in the realm of math, can such atrocities exist?
Seven Of Four

by mbarron » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:38 am

You've got some horrible errors there, eg. cross multiplication with brackets doesn't condense that way. etc. etc...

And in true UNISA fashion I will leave you to figure out the rest by yourself.

UNISA: Lifelong Forgetting!
mbarron
Site Admin

by Madman » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:38 pm

yes, quite clever to the mathematically challenged..sort of like an optical illusion. in fact i was showing this equation to my year 12 classmates 24 years ago to try fool them. sori.
signature removed irredeemably by court order for being massively overloli. have a nice day. :)
Madman
Harbinger of the Lolicaust

by stormy001 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 5:56 pm

Mathematics is symbols of advanced civilization, the more advanced the mathematics, the more significant correlation between these 2.

That's how I see it.
http://anime-comments.blogspot.com/

My personal anime blog.
stormy001

by Seven Of Four » Wed Nov 08, 2006 7:06 pm

mbarron wrote:You've got some horrible errors there, eg. cross multiplication with brackets doesn't condense that way. etc. etc...

And in true UNISA fashion I will leave you to figure out the rest by yourself.

UNISA: Lifelong Forgetting!